MINUTES OF THE TOPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING Tuesday January 2, 2018

Members of the Topton Borough Council met on Tuesday January 2, 2018 at 7:00 P.M. at Borough Hall for the purpose of reorganizing. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Thomas Biltcliff with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call was taken and the following members were present Mr. Stauffer, Mr. Biltcliff, Mr. Beck, Mr. Miller, Ms. Lorah, Mr. Jost, Ms. Moll and Ms. Kunkel. Borough Manager Marcus Dolny, Solicitor Joan London and visitors were also in attendance.

• PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION OF NOVEMBER 2017,

FOR THE OFFICES OF:

Stephen Beck; Council Jason Miller; Council Monica Kunkel; Council Caitlin Moll; Council Nancy Heffner; Tax Collector

• **OATH OF OFFICE** – Mayor Biltcliff administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected candidates.

• ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

A motion was made by Mr. Jost to open nominations seconded by Mr. Beck

Kap Stauffer was nominated for President of Council by Mr. Beck, seconded by Mr. Jost.

Hearing no other nominations Mr. Jost made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Beck.

Kap Stauffer unanimously was voted to the position of President of Council, and was presented with the gavel.

• ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE-PRES

A motion was made by Ms. Lorah to open nominations seconded by Mr. Beck

Stephen Beck was nominated for Vice President of Council by Mr. Jost, seconded by Ms. Lorah.

Hearing no other nominations Mr. Jost made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Miller.

Stephen Beck unanimously was voted to the position of Vice President of Council.

• 2018 COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF CHAIRMEN

FINANCE: Monica Kunkel

PERSONNEL: Caitlin Moll

STREETS : Michelle Lorah

PROPERTY: Frank Jost

PARKS AND RECREATION: Jason Miller

UTILITIES: Stephen Beck

PUBLIC AFFAIRS: Kap Stauffer

• ADOPTION OF PROCEDURAL RESOLUTIONS

RESOLUTION 1-2018 – Declaring Bank Depositories Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Beck passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 2-2018 – Appointment of Borough Auditor Motion made by Mr. Jost, seconded Mr. Miller passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 3-2018 – Appointment of Borough Engineer Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 4-2018 – Appointment of Borough Solicitor Motion made by Mr. Miller, seconded Mr. Jost passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 5-2018 – Adoption of Property Maintenance Code Fee Schedule Motion made by Mr. Jost, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 6-2018 – Appointment of Borough Treasurer Motion made by Mr. Jost, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 7-2018 – Appointment of Chief Administrative Officer, Pension Fund Motion made by Mr. Beck, seconded Mr. Miller passing unanimously RESOLUTION 8-2018 – Appointment of the Borough Manager Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Beck passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 9-2018 – Appointment of Zoning Officer Motion made by Mr. Jost, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

• RECOGNITION OF COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF OTHER OFFICIALS

2018 BOROUGH OFFICIALS

Thomas A. Biltcliff	Mayor (2022)
K. Ray "Kap" Stauffer	President of Council
Stephen Beck	Vice-President of Council
K. Ray Stauffer	Councilor (2020)
Caitlin Moll	Councilor (2022)
Stephen B. Beck	Councilor (2022)
Frank F. Jost	Councilor (2020)
Michelle D. Lorah	Councilor (2020)
Jason Miller	Councilor (2022)
Monica Kunkel	Councilor (2022)
Joan London*	Solicitor
Marcus Dolny	Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer
Sherry Palinkas	Administrative Assistant
TBD	Administration Clerk/ Recreation Coordinator
Barry Isett & Associates, INC.*	Borough Engineers
Barry Isett & Associates, INC *	Zoning Officer/Building Inspectors
Barry Isett & Associates, INC * Scott Steltz	Zoning Officer/Building Inspectors Road Master
•	
Scott Steltz	Road Master

Nancy Heffner	Real Estate Tax Collector
Bonnie Stauffer	Deputy Real Estate Tax Collector
Berks County EIT	Earned Income Tax Collector
M&T Bank *	Bank Depository
ESSA Bank*	Bank Depository

***TERMS ARE AT THE PLEASURE OF COUNCIL.**

<u>APPOINTMENT OF FOLLOWING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS</u>

Vacancy Board Chairman

Art Hahn

Planning Commission

Bruce Meitzler	1/1/2019
Julie Pummer	1/1/2020
Leo Scott	1/1/2021
Jeff Shriver	1/1/2022
Vacant	1/1/2023

Zoning Hearing Board

Vacant	1/1/2020
Edward Carter	1/1/2019
Vacant	1/1/2021
Alternate – Vacant	1/1/2021

Building Codes Appeals Board*

Eileen Black-Rodriguez – Appeals Officer Alexander Beach Ken Reitmeyer Robert Rauenzahn Margaret Reighn

Municipal Authority

William Moyer Craig Borrell Thomas Reppert **Vacant** Lynn Sprankle First Monday- January 2021 First Monday- January 2020 First Monday- January 2022 First Monday- January 2023 First Monday- January 2019

A Motion was made by Mr. Jost to recognize the boards and commissions as presented. The motion was seconded by Mr. Beck and passed unanimously.

• APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 11, 2017 MINUTES:

Motion made by Ms. Moll, seconded Mr. Jost passing unanimously

• LONGSWAMP GLOBAL SETTLEMENT

Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Jost passing unanimously pending the acceptance of the agreement by Longswamp Township.

• ADJOURNMENT 7:38

Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Beck

Respectfully Submitted Marcus V. Dolny Borough Manager