# MINUTES OF THE TOPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL MONDAY JANUARY 4, 2016 REORGANIZATION MEETING

Members of the Topton Borough Council met on Monday January 4, 2016 at 7:00 P.M. at Borough Hall for the regularly scheduled meeting. The meeting was called to order by Mr. Biltcliff with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call was taken and the following members were present Mayor Biltcliff, Mr. Beck, Ms. Lorah, Mr. Jost, Mr. Arndt, Mr. Wagaman, Mr. Gehman, and Mr. Stauffer. Also in attendance were Borough Secretary Marcus Dolny, Solicitor Joan London, and visitors.

### PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES / OATH OF OFFICE

Mayor Biltcliff announced that the following re-elected officials to Borough Council: K. Ray "Kap" Stauffer, Michelle Lorah, and Frank Jost were sworn in previously on December 17, 2015.

#### **ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT**

Mr. Arndt nominated Kap Stauffer for President; the nomination was seconded by Mr. Jost.

Hearing no other nominations Mr. Beck made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Arndt.

The appointment of K.Ray "Kap" Stauffer to President of Borough Council passed unanimously (6/0) with Mr. Stauffer abstaining from the vote. Mr. Biltcliff presented the gavel to Mr. Stauffer.

#### **ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT**

Mr. Jost nominated Mike Wagaman for Vice President; the nomination was seconded by Mr. Beck.

Hearing no other nominations Ms. Lorah made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Jost.

The appointment of Michael Wagaman to Vice President of Borough Council passed unanimously (6/0) with Mr. Wagaman abstaining from the vote.

#### APPOINTMENT TO AUTHORITIES, BOARDS, AND COMMISSIONS

<u>Planning Commission</u> <u>Zo</u>	oning Hearing Board	Municipal Authority
Bruce Meitzler Me	onica Kunkel	William Moyer
Julie Pummer Ed	lward Carter	Craig Borrell
Leo Scott Ma	ntthew Dolny	Thomas Reppert
Jeff Shriver Alt	ternate – Vacant	Nolan Shaub
Nolan Shaub		Lynn Sprankle

Motion was made by Mr. Wagaman to Appoint, seconded by Ms. Lorah and passing unanimously.

# RECOGNITION OF OTHER COUNCIL APPOINTED OFFICIALS

#### (AS NOTED IN AGENDA)

Bonnie Stauffer Administrative Assistant

Randy Sicher Fire Chief

Dennis Grow Fire Marshal

Nancy Heffner Real Estate Tax Collector

Bonnie Stauffer Deputy Real Estate Tax Collector

Berks County EIT Earned Income Tax Collector

Art Hahn Vacancy Board Chairman

# **ADOPTION OF PROCEDURAL RESOLUTIONS**

#### RESOLUTION 1-2016 – FEE SCHEDULE FOR 2016

Motion was made by Mr. Beck, seconded by Mr. Wagaman passing unanimously.

### RESOLUTION 2-2016 – BANK DEPOSITORIES

Motion was made by Mr. Wagaman, seconded by Ms. Lorah passing unanimously.

## **RESOLUTION 3-2016 – AUDITOR**

Motion was made by Mr. Beck, seconded by Mr. Wagaman passing unanimously.

#### **RESOLUTION 4-2016 - ENGINEER**

Motion was made by Mr. Gehman, seconded by Mr. Jost passing unanimously.

## **RESOLUTION 5-2016 - SOLICITOR**

Motion was made by Mr. Wagaman, seconded by Ms. Lorah passing unanimously.

# RESOLUTION 6-2016 – PROPERTY MAINTENANCE CODE APPEAL FEES

Motion was made by Mr. Wagaman, seconded by Mr. Beck passing unanimously.

# RESOLUTION 7-2016 – BOROUGH TREASURER

Motion was made by Mr. Wagaman, seconded by Mr. Arndt passing unanimously.

### RESOLUTION 8-2016 – EMPLOYEE PENSION PLAN CAO

Motion was made by Mr. Arndt, seconded by Ms. Lorah passing unanimously.

#### RESOLUTION 9-2016 – BOROUGH SECRETARY

Motion was made by Mr. Jost, seconded by Mr. Beck passing unanimously.

#### RESOLUTION 10-2016 – ZONING/CODES

Motion was made by Mr. Gehman, seconded by Mr. Wagaman passing unanimously.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

President Stauffer turned the gavel over to Vice President Wagaman in order to proceed with the motion to instruct Solicitor London to prepare and advertise an Ordinance reestablishing the position of Borough Manager. The motion was seconded by Mr. Jost and passed by a vote of 6 to 1 with Mr. Gehman voting in the negative.

Mr. Wagaman Turned the Gavel back over to Mr. Stauffer.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

On a motion by Mr. Jost, seconded by Mr. Beck the minutes of December 14, 2015 were approved unanimously.

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

Council adjourned at 7:25 PM on a motion by Ms. Lorah, seconded by Mr. Jost

The next Borough Council meeting will be held on January 11, 2016 at 7:00 PM.

Respectfully Submitted Marcus V. Dolny Borough Secretary