MINUTES OF THE TOPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING Monday January 6, 2020

Members of the Topton Borough Council met on Monday January 6, 2020 at 7:00 P.M. at Borough Hall for the purpose of reorganizing. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Thomas Biltcliff with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call was taken and the following members were present Mr. Stauffer, Mr. Biltcliff, Mr. Beck, Mr. Jost, Ms. Lorah, Mr. Bower, Ms. Moll and Ms. Kunkel. Borough Manager Marcus Dolny, Solicitor Brian Boland and visitors were also in attendance.

PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION OF NOVEMBER 2019,

FOR THE OFFICES OF:

K.Ray "Kap" Stauffer; Council Michelle Lorah; Council Frank Jost, Sr; Council Toby Bower; Council

• **OATH OF OFFICE** – Mayor Biltcliff administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected candidates.

• ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Mayor Biltcliff Opened nominations:

Monica Kunkel was nominated for President of Council by Ms. Lorah.

Kap Stauffer was nominated for President of Council by Mr. Beck.

Hearing no other nominations Mrs. Moll made a motion to close nominations for the President of Council. Mr. Bower seconded this motion passing unanimously.

Action on first nominee Monica Kunkel to the position of President of Council as voted:

Bower: No Beck: No Moll: Yes Lorah: Yes Jost: No Stauffer: Yes Kunkel: Yes With a vote of 4 to 3 Monica Kunkel was elected president. No further action needed.

Ms. Kunkel was presented with the gavel by Mayor Tom Biltcliff.

• ELECTION OF COUNCIL VICE-PRES

Ms. Kunkel opened nominations:

Caitlin Moll was nominated for Vice President of Council by Ms. Lorah and declined.

Stephen Beck was nominated for Vice President of Council by Mr. Jost and declined.

Toby Bower was nominated for Vice President of Council by Mr. Stauffer.

Hearing no other nominations Mr. Stauffer made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Jost.

Vote was taken to appoint Toby Bower to Vice President passing 6 to 1 with Ms. Lorah in the negative.

2020 COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF CHAIRMEN

Due to change in leadership appointments will be made at the next Borough Council meeting.

• ADOPTION OF PROCEDURAL RESOLUTIONS

RESOLUTION 1-2020 – Declaring Bank Depositories Motion made by Mr. Stauffer, seconded Mrs. Moll passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 2-2020 – Appointment of Borough Auditor Motion made by Mr. Beck, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 3-2020 – Appointment of Borough Engineer Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Beck passing 6 to 1 with Mr. Jost voting in the negative.

RESOLUTION 4-2020 – Appointment of Borough Solicitor Motion made by Mr. Stauffer, seconded Mr. Jost passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 5-2020 – Adoption of Property Maintenance Code Fee Schedule Motion made by Mrs. Moll, seconded Mr. Bower passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 6-2020 – Appointment of Borough Treasurer Motion made by Mr. Stauffer, seconded Mr. Beck passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 7-2020 – Appointment of Chief Administrative Officer, Pension Fund Motion made by Mrs. Moll, seconded Mr. Beck passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 8-2020 – Appointment of the Borough Manager Motion made by Mr. Stauffer, seconded Mr. Jost passing unanimously

RESOLUTION 9-2020 – Appointment of Zoning Officer Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mrs. Moll passing 6 to 1 with Mr. Jost voting in the negative.

RESOLUTION 10-2020 – Establishing fees for the filing of permits and licenses Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mrs. Moll passing 6 to 1 with Mr. Jost voting in the negative.

RESOLUTION 11-2020 – Authorizing the execution of an agreement with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Motion made by Mr. Stauffer, seconded Ms. Lorah passing unanimously

• RECOGNITION OF COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF OTHER OFFICIALS

2020 BOROUGH OFFICIALS

Thomas A. Biltcliff Mayor (2022)

Monica Kunkel President of Council (2022)

Toby Bower Vice-President of Council (2024)

K. Ray Stauffer Councilor (2022)

Caitlin Moll Councilor (2022)

Stephen B. Beck Councilor (2022)

Frank F. Jost Councilor (2024)

Michelle D. Lorah Councilor (2024)

Joan London* Solicitor

Marcus Dolny Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer

Sherry Palinkas Administrative Assistant

Trynda Schoonover Administration Clerk/ Recreation Coordinator

Barry Isett & Associates, INC.* Borough Engineers

Barry Isett & Associates, INC * Zoning Officer/Building Inspectors

Scott Steltz Road Master

Reinsel Kuntz Lesher* Auditors

Jason Robinson Fire Chief

Dennis Grow Fire Marshal

Nancy Heffner Real Estate Tax Collector

Bonnie Stauffer Deputy Real Estate Tax Collector

Berks County EIT Earned Income Tax Collector

M&T Bank * Bank Depository

ESSA Bank* Bank Depository

APPOINTMENT OF FOLLOWING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Vacancy Board Chairman

Art Hahn 1/1/2022

Planning Commission

 Bruce Meitzler
 1/1/2023

 Julie Pummer
 1/1/2024

 Leo Scott
 1/1/2021

 Jeff Shriver
 1/1/2022

 Andrew Kelhart
 1/1/2023

Zoning Hearing Board

 Stewart Chalmers
 1/1/2023

 Edward Carter
 1/1/2022

 Mike Garl
 1/1/2021

 Alternate – Vacant
 1/1/2021

^{*}TERMS ARE AT THE PLEASURE OF COUNCIL.

Building Codes Appeals Board*

Eileen Black-Rodriguez – Appeals Officer Alexander Beach Ken Reitmeyer Robert Rauenzahn Margaret Reighn

*Officers shall be contacted in 2020 to verify their continued service

Municipal Authority

William Moyer First Monday- January 2021

Vacant First Monday- January 2025

Thomas Reppert First Monday- January 2022

Andrew Kelhart First Monday- January 2023

Lynn Sprankle First Monday- January 2024

A Motion was made by Mr. Stauffer to recognize the boards and commissions as presented. The motion was seconded by Ms. Lorah and passed unanimously.

• APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 9, 2019 MINUTES:

Motion made by Mrs. Moll, seconded Mr. Bower passing unanimously

• Executive Session:

Entered: 7:30PM on motion by Ms. Lorah, seconded by Mrs. Moll passing unanimously.

Exit: 7:47PM on motion by Ms. Lorah, seconded by Mrs. Moll passing unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT 7:48

Motion made by Ms. Lorah, seconded Mr. Bower

Respectfully Submitted Marcus V. Dolny Borough Manager